Nominate someone for the 2023 award for the important role they play in organising trips that help their school and pupils benefit from learning outside the classroom.

The School Trip Champion Award highlights the work and effort put in by real unsung heroes, and recognises those who go the extra mile.

The winner will be able to spend £1,500 on a future educational visit for their school.

Nominate someone now

The finalists will be shortlisted in the spring and invited to the School Travel Awards ceremony in London on 6th June 2023 when the winner will be revealed.

About the School Trip Champion Award

Each year we open the award for nominations which are made by teachers, governors, parents, pupils, as well as staff from school travel providers / attractions.

A shortlist of four candidates then go into a public vote to decide the overall winner. 

Who can be nominated and win?

Anyone involved in organising school trips and learning outside the classroom experiences is eligible – from head teachers to educational visits coordinators. But it is important to remember that this award is for people who work in or for a school and not open to staff at providers (e.g. tour operators, attractions, accommodation, etc).

Stay up to date with the School Travel Awards and all the other content from School Travel Organiser by subscribing to the free email newsletter via this link.


The 2022 winner and finalists

We think you will agree that we had some very special people in the running once again for the 2022 award. You can read all about the amazing work they do by clicking here. A huge thank you to everyone who voted. 

The winner of the 2022 award was Sue Dutton of Sherbrook Primary School in Cannock, Staffordshire.

Sue has worked there as class teacher for 15 years and been central to the school’s commitment to school trips and learning outside the classroom. She was presented with the award at the 2022 School Travel Awards ceremony which took place on 25th May in London. Sue also secured a £1,500 prize for the school to spend on a future educational visit.

School Travel Awards 2022 - School Trip Champion Award

An emotional Sue Dutton of Sherbrook Primary School, Cannock is presented with the School Trip Champion Award from Mo Ogden of WST (right), and awards host Katharine Merry.

Sue told us: “I was totally shocked and stunned to be announced as the winner with such a strong field of finalists. I cried all the way to the stage and got a standing ovation from the crowd, which was amazing. I was totally overwhelmed and couldn’t speak.

“Sherbrook Primary School has been working hard over the past 13 years to develop their LOtC and their learning beyond the classroom. We have an amazing team of staff who work very hard to give the children wonderful experiences. My role in this has been to encourage, facilitate, train and support the staff in this area. We all understand the benefits of hands-on learning, especially for our children as they have a diverse range of special needs. My passion is learning outside, and I have also helped the school to achieve the Gold award for LOtC.

“I took my teachers pension in December 2021 and then returned to Sherbrook in January 2022 just to teach forest school and outdoor learning for two days a week. It’s the most wonderful and rewarding job ever. The faces of the happy children who run down to the outdoor classroom each week makes my day.”

School Travel Awards 2022 - School Trip Champion Award finalists

The finalists of the School Trip Champion Award were all brought to the stage to receive their certificates and to recognise their achievement. Pictured L-R are: Katharine Merry (awards host) alongside finalists Sara Taggart, Abigail Hopper, Sue Dutton, and Tracey Walker. Pictured far right is Mo Ogden from category partner, WST.

Sue was one of four amazing finalists who do so much to ensure children have experiences beyond the school gates.

Again, we found a very worthy winner but we want to applaud all of our other 2022 finalists:

  • Abigail Hopper, Nightingale Primary School, Hackney
  • Sara Taggart, The Lyceum School, Shoreditch
  • Tracey Walker, Ramsden Hall Academy, Billericay

Read more about your 2022 finalists

For more information about the School Travel Awards click to

If you need to speak to a member of the School Travel Organiser team about this Award or anything relating to the School Travel Awards email