Outstanding Contribution to LOtC awards

The tenth annual Awards for Outstanding Contribution to LOtC run by the Council for Learning Outside the Classroom, are under way. 

The awards recognise individuals and teams of people who have shown their commitment towards ensuring that young people have inspiring experiences outside the classroom.

Voting will close on Friday 27th October and will be announced at the awards evening on 16th November at Ingestre Hall, following the CLOtC Conference.

Voting and award categories

LOtC Inspiring Educator Award 2017 – Nominees include: British Exploring Leaders 2016, British Exploring Society; Aiden Clark from Adventure Activities UK; Trudi Morgan from Hampton Hill Junior School; and Worcester Cathedral Educational Volunteer Team.

LOtC Innovator Award 2017 – Nominees are: Jenny Hindson from Trees for Cities; Matt Hodgson from British Exploring Society; Bethan Painter from Environmental Studies; Young Egyptologist Workshop team, from The Egypt Centre Swansea University.

LOtC Advocate Award 2017 – Nominees include: Cathy Bache from Secret Garden Outdoor Nursery;  Fiona Craig from Ufton Court Educational Trust; Belinda Dixon from British Exploring Society; and Jo Skone from Randalph Beresford Early years Centre.

Lifetime Achievement in LOtC Award 2017 – Nominees are: Paul Airy from OEAP; Cathy Bache from Secret Garden Outdoor Nursery; Phil Simpson from Abernethy Trust; and Mike Tones from OASES.

Details of the shortlisted finalists can be found on the Council for Learning Outside the Classroom website. You can vote online here


School Travel Organiser is sponsoring the LOtC Advocate Award 2017. Sponsors of the other awards include NST Educational Travel Group, Canal and River Explorers, and YHA.

For more information, visit www.lotc.org.uk.